contact us to discuss your requirements
First Aid in the Workplace; CSCS; SSP; Construction Skills - call us for more detail
come and join us in our bespoke training facility
learners erecting studwork
Work Programme
helping people find sustainable employment

CSCS (Construction Skills Certification Scheme)

The Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) cards are proof that any person working on a construction site has had the correct training and holds the relevant qualifications to work safely and efficiently on site. The overall aim of the scheme is to improve quality, safety and efficiency in the workplace.

CSCS cards are essential for a construction worker. The numerous different tiers of cards awarded apply to different training and academic qualifications, and your occupation.


CSCS Red Card


There are 6 different red CSCS cards available:

Trainee (craft and operative)

-Available to anyone studying a construction related NVQ

-Valid for 3 years

Experienced worker

-Available to anyone with on the job experience of at least one year in the last three.

-Valid for one year and non-renewable as this card is issued on a temporary basis, while a construction related NVQ is achieved.

Experienced technician, supervisor or manager

-Available to supervisors and managers with on the job experience of at least one year in the last three.

-Valid for three years and non-renewable as this card is issued on a temporary basis, while a construction related NVQ is achieved.

Trainee (technical, supervisory and management)

-Available to anyone who is studying a construction related qualification (further or higher education).

-Valid for three years; the card can be renewed for a further three years.


-Available for applicants who are working through a probationary period while potential permanent employers assess their suitability for the occupation; also available for labourers who do not hold current CSCS cards.

-This card is only valid for six months and is non renewable.


-Available for applicants who are registered on a recognised apprenticeship framework

-Valid for four years and non renewable.


CSCS Green Card


Currently there is only one green CSCS card that people can apply for; as the CSCS card titled “Construction Site Operative” has now been phased out (as of 1st July 14). The Operative cards are still valid until their expiry date, where the card holder will have to apply for a different type of CSCS card depending on their occupation.


-Available to those who have either:

Passed the Level One award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment


Hold a valid Site Safety Plus (SSP) course certificate

-Valid for five years and can be renewed, subject to the above conditions being met.


CSCS Blue Card


Currently there is one blue card available.

 If you do not hold these qualifications but are experienced then you can apply for an Experienced Worker card.

Skilled worker (known as the trade card)

-Available to anyone who has either achieved an NVQ or SVQ Level 2 or completed an employee sponsored apprenticeship, including the achievement of a City and Guilds craft certificate.

-Valid for five years.


CSCS Yellow Card


Site visitor/escorted site visitor

-Available to anyone who frequently visits a construction site,  but has no construction specific skill.

-Valid for five years.


CSCS Gold Card


Advanced craft/supervisory

-Available to anyone who has either achieved a construction related NVQ or SVQ level 3 (click here) or completed an approved indentured apprenticeship, or sponsored apprenticeship including the achievement of a City and Guilds advanced craft certificate

-Valid for five years.


CSCS Black Card



-Available to anyone in a manager occupation, providing they have achieved a construction related NVQ/SVQ of level 4 or higher, or QCF Level 6 or 7 in the relevant occupation.

-Valid for five years.


CSCS White Card


Currently there are three white cards available.

Professionally qualified person

-Available to competence assessed members of CSCS approved professional bodies.

-Valid for five years.

-Applicants for this card must pass the CITB Managers and Professionals Health, Safety and Environment Test

Construction related occupation

-Available to people who work in a construction related occupation, but your occupation is not covered by any other CSCS card.

-Valid for five years

Academically qualified person

-Available to people who have completed construction related degrees, HND, HNC, CIOB certificates and NEBOSH diplomas.

-Valid for five years.